Bija Mantras for the Chakras

Since the soul expresses its energy through the subtle body, our connection to the chakras and realising their full potential is essential for wellbeing, personal evolution and spiritual awakening.

5576374153_3367c7f3af_oThe main practice common to all Vedic Sciences is the use of Mantra, the sound body of a Divine Being. This is not surprising given that the Rig Veda, the source of these sciences, is a collection of Mantras. These Sanskrit Hymns to the Gods represent a cosmic language that allows direct communication with them. The Sanskrit language has fifty letters, the primary sounds. They hold the power and inner potentials of Divine Light. These letters alone can be chanted as Mantra. There are also long mantras such as Gayatri and shorter mantras like Om Namashivaya. Another type are the Bija, or ‘seed’, Mantras, single syllable Mantras made of several vowels or consonants.

As well as its location, element, functions and form, each chakra has a Bija Mantra associated with it. Using a combination of asana, pranayama and chanting it is possible to deepen our connection to the chakras, improve their function and eventually release their full potentials.

We can start by chanting the Bija Mantra while focusing our attention on the chakra location. The Mantra, along with the associated element is shown in the following list:

Muladhara – root – mantra: lam – element: earth

Svadhisthana – two finger widths above root – mantra: vam – element: water

Manipuraka – navel – mantra: ram – element: fire

Anahata – heart – mantra: yam – element: air

Visuddhi – throat – mantra: ham – element: space

Ajna – third eye – mantra: am – beyond elements

Sahasrara – crown – mantra: om – beyond elements

We can chant the mantra vocally while moving and staying in asana that focus attention on the chosen chakra and mentally repeat the mantra while practising pranayama and then while sitting in a meditation position.

The initial benefits of this will be more stability, vital energy, empowerment, love, creative expression and clarity. These will be experienced at an enhanced level after further practice and purification. Eventually the siddha of the chakra will begin to operate.

We will examine the root chakra in more detail as an example.

The root chakra represents the earth and our foundation of physical, emotional and mental stability. If unbalanced, we can experience feelings of insecurity, distrust and instability. We have exceptional vitality and self control when this chakra has optimal function. In its awakened state we will have the power to cure diseases.

The siddha for the other chakras are respectively; Svadhisthana –the ability to give and receive love from all beings; navel – will go beyond sorrow and have the ability to access subtle worlds; heart – enjoy the joy and bliss of oneness and superior states of devotion and affection; throat – excellence in expression in arts and speech; third eye – vision of the soul, psychic powers and long life; crown – transcendence of worldly consciousness.

The transformational results of these mantras can only be achieved by our own practice over a period of time. Repeating a mantra 1,000 times will give us a connection to it, 10,000 times will deepen this and we will energise it after 100,000 repetitions. So a daily practice for a long duration is required. If you are able to take regular retreats of a few days it will be of great benefit.

This mantra series can be extended and enhanced by adding the elemental names and namah for reverence as follows:

Lam prthivyai namah; vam jalaya namah, ram agnaye namah; yam vayave namah; ham akasaya namah; am atmaya namah; Om.

May your practice bring you health, bliss and awakening.

(c) Steve Brandon


(image by mydollnme on Flikr Creative Commons)

Website Designed by New Earth Vision