Your Personal Path in Yoga

“If a man does not know to which port he is sailing, no wind is favourable to him.”         Seneca

Finding our own authentic path in life is crucial. We need to know where we are going and also the means by which we can get there.

Indian philosophy and spirituality respects the individual need to find our way according to our own temperament, beliefs and life situation. Hence there are a range of possibilities within the Yoga tradition, although a map is given for our journey. Yoga is neither dogmatic, nor a completely free thinking philosophy.  It offers a procedure for transformation leading to a restoration of our innate Spiritual integrity. Ayurveda, sharing the same roots as Yoga, presents a way of maintaining optimum health based on our own unique constitution and in harmony with natural and cosmic law.

The orientation model shared by these two sciences allows practice to be adapted to suit different individual needs based on interest, age and the various changes and challenges of life.

This model is briefly:

Therapeutic – Cikitsa Krama

This approach to practice is needed to reduce suffering, support recovery, restore peace and clarity to the mind and improve the quality of life.

Preventative – Cikitsa Krama

In this approach to practice we attempt to maintain good health, promote longevity and develop a peaceful mind and orient it towards Samdhi.

Developmental – Kala or Sakti Krama

This approach to practice takes us to new levels of health improving the function of body, breath and mind. Improved structural integrity and energy levels, a deepening peace in the mind and a clearer understanding of our spiritual nature and life purpose are the main benefits sought. The transformations required for Yoga can be attained step by step.

Transcendental – Adhyatmika Krama

This approach is one aiming at spiritual realisation and emphasises meditation as a practice towards this end.Yoga is an AtmaVidya, a practical procedure leading ultimately to the knowledge (vidya) of our spiritual nature (atma). This establishment in spirit is called Kaivalya in the Yoga tradition.

These orientations are aligned with the four stages of Yoga given by Patanjali, Kriya Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga, Samadhi Yoga and Kaivalya.

Whatever your starting point, Harmony Yoga can offer you a tailored, individual approach to develop your own Yoga practice through personal lessons

Contact Stephen to discuss your requirements.



Website Designed by New Earth Vision